top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKyleen Joan

Being A Wife To A Hard Working Man

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

I get asked to write about marriage and I have been having a hard time coming up with a good idea to write about and then BANG! It hit me, "Being A Wife To A Hard Working Man".


My husband wakes up at 3:30 AM for work, while our son and I are sleeping and he is gone for 12-14 hours a day. I wake up when my son awakes to a silent and dark house. I don't take for granted that I get to be a stay at home mom and I am not upset that I get to do this for our family, but its lonely. Its our son and I all day every day, well Mon-Fri, but whose counting? Oh yeah, me.


My day looks like this:

Wake up.

Make coffee.

Make breakfast for our son and I.

Get our son ready for the day.

Start a load of laundry and vacuum.

Unload the dishwasher and reheat my coffee, because I never get the chance to drink it all while its warm the first time around...I usually have to reheat my coffee 2-3 times.

Get myself ready for the day, which lets face it...I get ready for the day around Noon when I have most of the chores done and have a minute to myself.

Clean...clean...clean and hope my son naps throughout the day, at least once.


Our son and I are always anxious for dad (my husband) to get home and by the time he gets home its around 6:30/7:00 PM and I am exhausted, but I still make sure there is dinner ready and sometimes its take out...but whose complaining? Not me.


Being a wife to a hard working man is NOT easy and honestly, ITS HARD. Alone time together is limited, family time is limited, dinner is always late at night and fun events are limited.

In reality, I hate having dinner so late, I hate that my husband has to work so much for our family that he misses out on things, I hate that my husband only gets 1-2 hours at night to spend with our son on the days he works, I hate that he doesn't have time to do things around the house - so on the weekends he spends majority of his time working on things around the house and I hate that we are both so tired by the end of the day - that we lack spending one on one time together.


I have come to accept the fact that with being in love with a hard working man, will come lack of time together.


So here is to the hardworking men that us women are married to, that work hard for our families in order to live a life we love.




105 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The SuperBowl Hafltime Show Wasn't Empowering

We were at a friends house for the SuperBowl and then it came to the halftime show. I honestly had no idea who was performing prior to watching, but I was shocked at what I was seeing. The SuperBowl i

bottom of page