top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKyleen Joan

Adult Women Are Just As Mean As Teen Girls

Updated: Feb 12, 2020

Hoofta, I thought I was old enough (at the age of 25) to not encounter anymore mean girls, due to the fact I am not in high school anymore. Well, I was wrong.


Like millions of other people, I made a post about the Halftime show, which apparently was wrong of me, because I took a stand in something I believed was not appropriate for national television and for children. The aftermath of the Superbowl Halftime show brought out the good and the bad in people and unfortunately, my post mainly brought out the bad in people.


I posted to my Instagram and lost over 100 followers, because they didn't like the vibe I gave off on the post regarding the performance by J-Lo and Shakira. To me, they were triggered, but why? There was no reason to be. We just didn't have the same stance on the situation.


Since I disagreed with the Superbowl Halftime performance, I was called terrible names, I was shamed, told to delete my social media and I was told I was an embarrassment to women everywhere.


Not only was I getting facebook messages about what I posted, but I was getting comments/dm's on Instagram, along with comments on my blog from people who I don't even know. They were taking screenshots of my old modeling photos and harassing me with them and saying horrible things, all while they were telling me STOP SHAMING.

Even though I did respond to a few comments, I ended up taking the high road and blocked the negativity, because to be honest...I am getting too old for that stuff.


When did it become acceptable to shame, name call and swear at someone for speaking facts about a situation, all while telling that person to not shame and not to tear women down?

When did it become acceptable to attack strangers for having a different opinion than yours and blasting them on social media?


Usually when you don't like something on social media, you move along and you ignore it. If you want to say what is on your mind, by all means...do it, but be respectful about it. Name calling and shaming isn't respectful and isn't the correct approach.

Now, you may think I was shaming the performance and honestly, in a sense I was, but not to the extent people thought I was. Apparently when you write how you feel and your opinions about stuff, you need to take out coloring books and crayons to draw and color code things for people. Folks that read what I posted dug way deep into what I meant and yeah, maybe I didn't use all the correct/perfect wording, but does that give someone the right to belittle a person? No.


It doesn't matter which side of the bench you are on with anything in life, because if yuou have a different view than someone, you more than likely will get shamed, because people are mean.


What I have learned over the years is social media has a lot of mean people. It doesn't matter if they know you, see your post from a hashtag you used or saw an article you wrote...people will hide behind their computer screens and belittle you.


I will continue to stand up for what I believe in, that isn't going to change.


To each their own.



95 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The SuperBowl Hafltime Show Wasn't Empowering

We were at a friends house for the SuperBowl and then it came to the halftime show. I honestly had no idea who was performing prior to watching, but I was shocked at what I was seeing. The SuperBowl i

bottom of page